Hillcrest Park and Zoo
Clovis, NM
- Admission
- $6
- Accreditation
- None listed
not accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums
Everything below is directory information drawn from public sources and the zoo's own site.
Animals at Hillcrest Park and Zoo
3 confirmedFeathers & Fangs from visitors
What people who've been to Hillcrest Park and Zoo say
A Feather is something this zoo does well; a Fang is something it gets wrong. Left by people who've been, and read by us before they appear.
Loading…
About Hillcrest Park Zoo
Hillcrest Park Zoo is a zoological park in Clovis, New Mexico, at 1208 N. Norris Street. The zoo's listed contact email is on the cityofclovis.org domain. The zoo's website describes it as "New Mexico's second-largest zoological park" and says the zoo sits within Hillcrest Park, which covers more than 140 acres of parkland. The zoo states its mission as connecting and celebrating the region's love of nature and wildlife through conservation, protection and educational experiences.
The park around the animal exhibits includes playground equipment, picnic areas, a seasonal splash park and a sunken garden that the zoo says is used for weddings. The zoo is not accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums.
History
According to the zoo's website, the zoo has been in operation since the 1930s and has been in Hillcrest Park since the 1950s.
Exhibits and habitats
The zoo's website names a Bengal tiger, giraffes, reptiles and primates as the main animals visitors can see. Other animals named on its encounter and adoption pages give a fuller picture of the collection.
Giraffes: the giraffe encounter page names two giraffes, Antonio and Jerrica, and says guests feed them for 30 minutes with photo opportunities. The zoo describes the encounter as one in which the giraffes come to the guest and eat out of the hand.
Bactrian camels: the zoo's camel page names two Bactrian camels, Alexander Camelton and Eliza Camelton.
Bat-eared foxes: the zoo lists two bat-eared foxes. The adoption page names one as Falcon.
Reptiles and invertebrates: the reptile encounter page lists snakes, iguanas, tortoises and invertebrates. The adoption page also names Charlotte the tarantula.
Other named animals: the adoption page mentions Sooner the tiger, Peggy the capybara, a raccoon named Shortcake, a sloth named Snail, and lemurs and an otter. The admission page also lists a ring-tailed lemur encounter among programs it describes as new in 2023. The adoption page says all of the zoo's animals are available for adoption and puts the number at 100.
Conservation and programs
The zoo offers a set of paid animal encounters that are sold separately from general admission, and the zoo notes that animal encounters are not included with general admission but can be added. The encounter pages describe four.
The giraffe encounter is a 30-minute feeding session with Antonio and Jerrica.
The camel encounter is a 30-minute session of vegetable feeding with both camels, listed for ages 8 and up and for up to four people, with zoo admission included.
The bat-eared fox encounter is 25 minutes, for ages 8 and up and up to four people. The page says guests sit on a bench inside the animals' habitat, that the foxes may come up and rub against them, and that guests are asked not to reach out and touch the animals. An encounter guide gives general information and details about the individual foxes.
The reptile encounter runs 30 to 45 minutes for ages 8 and up and up to five people. It is led by a zookeeper and described as hands-on.
Beyond encounters, the zoo runs an animal adoption program. The program page says adopters receive a certificate and a one-year listing on the zoo's website, and that adoptions at a stated higher level include a behind-the-scenes tour with the adopted animal. Details of amounts are on the zoo's website.
School groups of 10 or more people can book a field trip through a registration form on the zoo's field trips page. The page asks parents who join a trip to arrive 10 minutes before the school group, and recommends booking early because spring and summer dates fill quickly. The zoo's home page also mentions a digital photo contest for visitors.
Planning your visit
As listed on the zoo's website, Hillcrest Park Zoo is open Tuesday through Sunday from 9 am to 4 pm. The group admission page adds that the zoo is closed Mondays and most City of Clovis observed holidays, and that the grounds are cleared by 5 pm. The gift shop is listed as open Tuesday to Sunday from 9:00 AM to 4:30 PM.
Ticket and membership details are on the zoo's website. Memberships are described as giving unlimited entry for one rolling year, with a household option for two adults and two children and a choice to add more people. The zoo's pages also describe discount days: Clovis residents and military receive reduced admission on the second Saturday of the month, and seniors receive reduced admission on the fourth Saturday of the month.
The zoo's website describes the grounds as 100 percent stair-free, with accessible restrooms, free wheelchair use and wagons for rent. The gift shop is at the main entrance, sells light snacks, and has a four-pattern penny smasher. The zoo's phone number is listed as (575) 769-7873.
What we haven't confirmed
Everything above came from public sources. These specifics we haven't stood behind yet:
- Operating authority (City of Clovis is indicated by the contact email but not stated outright)
- Food and outside-picnic policy
- Parking details
- Current total number of animals and species
- Notable history milestones since the 1930s
Hillcrest Park and Zoo compared with nearby zoos
How Hillcrest Park and Zoo lines up against other zoos in the same state. We don't have coordinates for it yet, so these aren't ranked by distance.
| Zoo | Admission | Hours | Size | AZA |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hillcrest Park and ZooThis zooClovis, NM | $6 | Tuesday – Sunday 9:00 AM – 4:00 PM; closed Mondays and most City of Clovis holidays; grounds cleared by 5:00 PM. Closed Most City of Clovis observed holidays. | — | No |
| ABQ BioPark ZooAlbuquerque, NM | $19.50 | Daily 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM; last entry 30 minutes before closing. Closed Jan 1, Thanksgiving, Dec 25. | 64 acres | Yes |
| Living Desert Zoo and Gardens State ParkCarlsbad, NM | $10 | 9 am – 5 pm | — | No |
| Spring River ZooRoswell, NM | Free | Daily 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM; last entry 3:00 PM. | — | No |
Distances are straight-line. A dash means we haven't confirmed that detail yet, not that the zoo lacks it.
AZAThe Association of Zoos and Aquariums. Accredited members have passed an independent inspection of animal care and welfare, safety, conservation and education, repeated every five years. Many smaller facilities never apply, so “not accredited” isn't a verdict on its own. What accreditation means · How we check this
Hillcrest Park and Zoo: common questions
Where is Hillcrest Park Zoo?
The zoo is at 1208 N. Norris Street in Clovis, New Mexico, inside Hillcrest Park.
What are the hours?
As listed on the zoo's website, it is open Tuesday through Sunday from 9 am to 4 pm and is closed Mondays and most City of Clovis observed holidays.
Which animals can visitors feed or meet?
The zoo lists giraffe feeding, a camel encounter with two Bactrian camels, a bat-eared fox encounter and a reptile encounter. These are sold separately from general admission.
Is the zoo AZA accredited?
No. The zoo is not accredited by the Association of Zoos and Aquariums.
Is the zoo wheelchair accessible?
The zoo's website says the grounds are 100 percent stair-free, with accessible restrooms and free wheelchairs available.
Who operates the zoo?
The zoo's contact email and online booking account are under the City of Clovis name, but the zoo's website does not state its operator outright.
Something wrong here? Tell us — we correct in place, with a dated note.



